7 Folk Dances from the North West of Cameroon with Bobo Leennox and COYAC

04 July, 2022 by Alexander Boyd | 0 comments

7 Folk Dances from the North West of Cameroon with Bobo Leennox and COYAC

Discover 7 folk dances from different north west Cameroon cultural backgrounds while discovering their history and geopolitical context.

7 Folk Dances from the North West of Cameroon with Bobo Leennox and COYAC
- You will learn 7 folk dances from different north west Cameroon cultural backgrounds while learning the history and geopolitical context.
 
Teaser Video from Bobo Leennox produced by Intercultural Roots:
 
A short ONLINE course of 7 weekly workshops
Fridays starting 23rd September 2022.
 
Local times (Zoom):
London: 4pm-5.15pm

Yaoundé: 4pm-5.15pm

San Francisco: 8am-9.15am

Ottawa: 11am-12.15pm

New York: 11am-12.15pm

Amsterdam: 17:00-18:15

Cape Town: 5pm-6.15pm
 
Learn the steps and also the history and geopolitical context.
A diversity of cultural costumes, musical instruments and backgrounds.
 
Bobo Leennox  is an artist and folkloric choreographer who grew up in a minority and marginalized community in Cameroon whose endeavor is to use arts and culture to promote peace and harmonious co-existence within cultures.
 

The 7 dances include: 
1) Bottle Dance from Bafouchu Clan in Mezam Division 2) Mbaya Dance from Nso Clan in Bui Division 3) Ufweng Dance (Nyanga Dance) done by women of the Aghem Clan in Menchum Division 
4) Menang Dance from Bafut in Mezam Division 5) Subi Juju Dance from Oku in Bui Division  6) Njang Dance or Mbagulum Dances from Kom Clan in Boyo Division and Mankon in Mezam Division 
7) Galena Dance from Bali in Mezam Division 
 
Registration:
 
Bursary Ticket (GBP£15) - is only for people living in countries classed by the World Bank as ‘low income' and 'lower-middle income’ i.e. African countries. Concessionary Ticket (GBP£50) - is only for job seekers, students and seniors with a low household income. General Admission: GBP£65
 
Supported by:
 
Intercultural Roots is a non-profit partnership of two arts, education and health charities each registered with the Charity Commission in the UK to operate worldwide. Intercultural Roots for Public Health, UK Registered Charity Number 1179885 & Intercultural Roots for Traditional Embodied Arts, UK Registered Charity Number 1146653.
 
Funded by:
 
Players of the National Lottery Community Fund
The Big Issue Invest
Social Enterprise Support Fund

Stay up to date with the IFTR Weekly Digest